Skip To Content

Welcome to
West Somerset Council

Political Structure

Following the elections on 7 May 2015 West Somerset Council is made up of 28 Councillors (also known as Members) who are elected for 4 years.

The Conservative Group currently has overall control of the Council.

Political Structure of West Somerset Council is as follows (as at 23 March 2017):

  • 19 Conservatives
  • 3 Independents
  • 3 UKIP
  • 1 Labour
  • 1 Liberal Democrat

Who's Who

The Chairman, Vice-Chairman and Leader of the Council are appointed on a yearly basis at the Annual Meeting of the Council usually held in May.