Planning Committee

Purpose of the Planning Committee

The purpose of the Committee is to act for the Council on matters involving the functions of the Council as local or district planning authority.  The Committee's powers include the power to determine applications for planning permission; to determine listed building consents; enforce or dispense with the duty to replace trees; issue an enforcement notice etc.

The full role and functions of the Committee are set out within the Council's Constitution together with the Terms of Reference, which can be found on this page.

Membership of Planning Committee

15 seats in total

11 Conservative

4 West Somerset Opposition

Name Political Group
Cllr S Pugsley (Chairman) Conservative
Cllr B Maitland-Walker (Vice Chair) Conservative
Cllr K Mills Conservative
Cllr G S Dowding Conservative
Cllr S Y Goss Conservative
Cllr A Kingston-James Conservative
Cllr B Heywood Conservative
Cllr C Morgan Conservative
Cllr J Parbrook Conservative
Cllr K Turner Conservative
Cllr R Woods Conservative
Cllr I Aldridge West Somerset Opposition
Cllr I Jones West Somerset Opposition
Cllr P H Murphy West Somerset Opposition
Cllr T Venner West Somerset Opposition